IFAA Executive Board

Executive Officers


Dr Anne Cleary - president@irishfulbrightalumni.com

Anne Cleary is a lecturer in the School of Sociology, University College Dublin and her teaching and research interests are in the area of gender and health. Before joining UCD she worked in the Health Research Board and was later appointed to the board of the HRB. She is a former editor of the Irish Journal of Sociology and has undertaken research projects funded by the Irish Research Council for the Humanities and the Social Sciences, the National Disability Authority and The Department of Social and Family Affairs. She was based in the University of California, Berkeley, as a Fulbright Scholar in 2010.

Vice President

Ms Sinéad Murnane - vicepresident@irishfulbrightalumni.com

Sinéad is a Research Fellow at the Innovation Value Institute in Maynooth University and a Registered Yoga Teacher.

She held the Fulbright-CRH Award in Business Studies 2010-11, while conducting research for her doctoral thesis on technology and knowledge sharing in multi-disciplinary teams. Her research was carried out at the Institute for Healthcare Delivery Research at Intermountain Healthcare in Salt Lake City, Utah.

Honorary Secretary

Mr Oisín Fergal Lyons - secretary@irishfulbrightalumni.com

Oisín is a Data Scientist with the Research & Development team in the Aon Centre for Innovation & Analytics in Dublin. He is a graduate of Mechanical Engineering from Trinity College Dublin. In 2011 he was awarded the Fulbright-GlenDimplex scholarship in renewables to investigate the use of superhydrophobic surfaces in electronics cooling. He completed this research under the tutelage of Prof. S. Garimella at the CTRC at Purdue University, Indiana.

Membership Secretary

Dr Anne Graham Cagney - membershipsecretary@irishfulbrightalumni.com

Anne lectures in the School of Lifelong Learning & Education at Waterford Institute of Education.


Dr Frances Fahy - treasurer@irishfulbrightalumni.com

Frances is a Senior Lecturer in Geography at the National University of Ireland, Galway. Frances is an environmental geographer and is the coordinator and lead of the Horizon 2020 project, ENERGISE 
‘European Network for Research, Good Practice and Innovation for Sustainable Energy’. 

Frances is the current lead of the Socio-Economic and Policy Pillar of the Ryan Institute. She is Chair of the Environment Development and Sustainability Cluster (Whitaker Institute) and Chair of the Planning and Sustainability Research Cluster in Geography at NUIG. Frances is the past President of the Geographical Society of Ireland (2012-2014) and a past Chair of the Planning and Environment Research Group (PERG) of the Royal Geographical Society (2007-2012).

Frances was the recipient of the 2013-14 Fulbright Scholar Award and travelled to the US to conduct research on: Communicating Sustainability Research - Challenges, Opportunities and Dissemination Strategies.

Communications Officer

Ms Lisa Nic an Bhreithimh

Lisa graduated with a BA in Modern Irish and Philosophy from Trinity College Dublin, and a Masters in Communications with a focus on Media and the Irish language from University College Dublin. She was a Fulbright Foreign Language Teaching Assistant (FLTA) at the University of Connecticut for the 2012-13 academic year. Lisa worked for two years in the role of Awards Manager at the Fulbright Commission and is now a Senior Executive Assistant at the National University of Ireland.

Bhain Lisa Nic an Bhreithimh bunchéim amach ó Choláiste na Tríonóide sa Nua-Ghaeilge agus san Fhealsúnacht, agus máistreacht i Scríobh agus Cumarsáid na Gaeilge le béim ar na meáin chumarsáide ó Choláiste na hOllscoile, Baile Átha Cliath. Ba Chúntóir Múinteoireachta i dTeanga Iasachta (FLTA) Fulbright í in Ollscoil Connecticut i rith na bliana acadúla 2012-13. Chaith Lisa dhá bhliain ag obair mar Bhainisteoir Dámhachtaine leis an gCoimisiún Fulbright agus is Cúntóir Feidmiúcháin Sinsearach í anois le hOllscoil na hÉireann.

Newsletter Editor

Dr Teresa Lynn

Teresa is a Postdoctoral Researcher in Irish Language Technology at The ADAPT Centre, Dublin City University. She holds both a BSc and a PhD in Computational Linguistics from DCU. Her PhD was also awarded by Macquarie University Sydney under a cotutelle agreement.

As a 2014-2015 Fulbright Enterprise Ireland Awardee, Teresa was a visiting research student at Saint Louis University in Missouri, during which time she focused her research on the use of the Irish language on Twitter. She subsequently shared her work in a Fulbright TEDx talk in 2016.

Teresa's previous appointments include Vice-President of Cumann Gaeilge na hAstráile in Melbourne, Australia.

Board Members

Ms Síobhra Aiken

Dr Colm Browning

Ms Gráinne Cuffe

Gráinne is a Printmaker [etchings]. A graduate of IADT, and Central St. Martin’s, London, she was awarded a Fulbright in 1984 to do a Master Printmakers course in Tamarind Institute, New Mexico. A member of Graphic Studio, Dublin she also works in her own studio in Wicklow. She shows her work regularly at Royal Academy, London, RHA, Dublin and Graphic Studio Gallery, Dublin.

Mr Reamonn MacReamoinn

Dr Emer Mulligan


President Emeritus

Dr Jimmy O'Brien Moran - president@irishfulbrightalumni.com

Jimmy joined the IFAA board in 2009 and served as President from 2015-2017.

He was awarded his primary degree at WIT, where he now lectures, and his PhD at the University of Limerick. His academic interests centre around Irish traditional music manuscripts of the 19th century. During 2008 he spent five months at Boston College as a Fulbright Visiting Professor with a Culture Ireland-Fulbright award. He is considered to be one of Ireland's foremost uilleann pipers. A member of the group Scullion in the late 1970s and early 1980s, he now concentrates on solo performance.

© Irish Fulbright Alumni Association MMXVII

Home | Background | Board | Newsletter | Events | Membership | Fulbright Commission | Links | Contact


IFAA is a founding member of